Where is Oceania on the Map

Oceania is a region located in the Pacific Ocean that includes a group of islands and countries. It is often considered to include Australasia (Australia and New Zealand) and the Malay Archipelago (Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea) along with the islands of the Pacific Ocean, such as Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia. Oceania is located southeast of Asia, east of Africa, and south of North and South America. It is also bordered by the Indian Ocean to the west and the Southern Ocean to the south.

Oceania is a vast region that encompasses a diverse group of islands and countries in the Pacific Ocean. The region is made up of three main subregions: Australasia, which includes Australia and New Zealand; Melanesia, which includes the islands of Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, and Fiji; and Polynesia, which includes the islands of Samoa, Tonga, the Cook Islands, and French Polynesia.

Oceania is located southeast of Asia, east of Africa, and south of North and South America

Oceania Political Map

Oceanian Countries Maps and Satellite Images from Space

The geography of Oceania is diverse, with everything from tropical rainforests and coral reefs to deserts and mountains. The region is also home to many unique and diverse cultures, including the Indigenous cultures of Australia, the Maori culture of New Zealand, and the various island cultures of Melanesia and Polynesia.

Where is Oceania located in the World?

Where is Oceania located in the World

Oceania has a rich history and has played an important role in the development of human civilization. Many of the world’s oldest and most advanced cultures, such as the Indigenous cultures of Australia and the Polynesian cultures, originated in Oceania. The region is also home to many different religions, including Christianity, Hinduism, and various traditional animist religions.

oceania countries map

In terms of economy, Oceania is a diverse region with different levels of development. Australia and New Zealand are developed economies with high standard of living, while many island nations in the region still struggle with poverty and underdevelopment. The region is rich in natural resources, including minerals, timber, and fisheries and it’s a popular tourist destination.

How many countries there are in Oceania?

Oceania is a vast region made up of many islands and countries, and there is some variation in how it is defined and divided. Depending on how it is defined, there are around 14 to 18 countries in Oceania.

It’s worth noting that some territories in Oceania, such as American Samoa, Guam and Northern Mariana Islands, are considered unincorporated territories of other countries.

Also, Oceania also includes some territories that are overseas departments or territories of European countries such as French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna and New Caledonia, these are considered to be sovereign territories but they have different status than independent countries.

  1. Australia Map
  2. New Zealand Map
  3. New Caledonia Map
  4. Papua New Guinea Map
  5. Kiribati Map
  6. Marshall Islands Map
  7. Micronesia Map
  8. Nauru Map
  9. Niue Map
  10. Norfolk Island Map
  11. Northern Mariana Islands Map
  12. Palau Map
  13. Pitcairn Islands Map
  14. American Samoa Map
  15. Christmas Island Map
  16. Cook Islands Map
  17. Fiji Map
  18. French Polynesia Map
  19. Guam Map
  20. Samoa Map
  21. Solomon Islands Map
  22. Tokelau Map
  23. Tonga Map
  24. Tuvalu Map
  25. Vanuatu Map
  26. Wallis and Futuna Map

Author: Arif Cagrici – Head of Digital