Where is Australia on the Map

Australia is located in the Southern Hemisphere, specifically in the Oceania region. It is the world’s sixth-largest country by total area, and it is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is located south of Indonesia and East of Africa.

Geography: Australia is the world’s sixth-largest country by total area and is located in the Southern Hemisphere. It is a continent that comprises the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. The landscape of Australia is diverse, including coastal beaches, deserts, rainforests and the Great Barrier Reef.

Where is the Australia in the World?

Where is the Australia in the World

Demographics: Australia’s population is around 24 million people, with the majority of the population living in urban areas. The population is diverse, with Indigenous Australians, immigrants from around the world and people of Anglo-Celtic descent. The official language is English, and there are also many other languages spoken throughout the country.

Population: The population of Australia is around 24 million people. The majority of the population is concentrated in urban areas, particularly along the eastern and southeastern coasts.

Australia political map

Economy: Australia has a developed, market-based economy with a high standard of living. The country is rich in natural resources, including coal, iron ore, gold, and natural gas. Agriculture, mining, and services are the main industries, and it also has a strong and well-regulated financial sector. Australia is known for its strong export-oriented economy, with major exports including minerals, agricultural products, and education services.

How many states and territories in Australia

Australia has six states and two territories:

  1. New South Wales
  2. Victoria
  3. Queensland
  4. South Australia
  5. Western Australia
  6. Tasmania
  7. Australian Capital Territory (ACT)
  8. Northern Territory (NT)
The states have a similar level of autonomy as the territories, but their powers and responsibilities are defined by the Commonwealth Constitution. The territories are governed by the Commonwealth, but they have some degree of self-government and their own legislative assembly. The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) surrounds the capital city of Canberra and the Northern Territory (NT) is located in the northern part of Australia.

Learn more about Australia

Australia cities map

The largest cities in Australia are:

Here are the 10 most populous cities in Australia with their population figures:

  1. Sydney, New South Wales – 5,230,330
  2. Melbourne, Victoria – 4,936,349
  3. Brisbane, Queensland – 2,474,624
  4. Perth, Western Australia – 2,022,044
  5. Adelaide, South Australia – 1,318,354
  6. Gold Coast, Queensland – 696,706
  7. Canberra, Australian Capital Territory – 410,301
  8. Newcastle, New South Wales – 480,000
  9. Wollongong, New South Wales – 300,687
  10. Logan City, Queensland – 334,622
Please note that this list is subject to change over time as population figures are updated.

Author: Arif Cagrici – Head of Digital